top of page

Aims & Methods

Arbeitsmodell%252520Englisch_edited_edit
Fig. 1. Overall working model

Aims

Little is known about how career choices in interaction with the quality of the chosen education influence experiences in VET (training companies, vocational school) and in what way those experiences predict educational success. Conditions for successfully completing the Federal Vocational Baccalaureate are of particular interest. This Projects aims to fill those research gaps. The theoretical framework is based on the expectancy-value model by Eccles and Wigfield (2002), complemented with the social cognitive career theory by Lent, Brown and Hackett (1994).

The following research questions are to be answered:

(1) How do children’s personality traits and beliefs and behavior of parents and teachers in primary and secondary school influence graduation of vocational training, subjective evaluation of employment situation and career plans after graduation?

 

(2) How can the process of career choice and experiences in training companies explain the role of children’s personality traits and beliefs and behavior of parents and teachers in primary and secondary school concerning graduation of vocational training, subjective evaluation of employment situation and career plans after graduation?

Methods

The study began in 2011 with a survey of 1’735 adolescents in 5th grade in four Swiss cantons (Aargau, Basel Country, Bern, Lucerne). Further surveys followed in grade 6, 7 and 9 and one year after graduation of compulsory school. By using questionnaires, intelligence tests and performance tests, data on education-related beliefs as well as achievement and career intentions was collected and parents and teachers were surveyed as well as adolescents. The sixth survey will be conducted in autumn of 2021. By surveying the participants regularly, the choice of educational paths can be explained and the research questions described above can be answered.

bottom of page

Ziele & Methoden

Arbeitsmodell_edited_edited_edited.jpg
Abb. 1. Übergeordnetes Arbeitsmodell

Ziele

Es ist wenig darüber bekannt, wie die Berufsfindung in Interaktion mit der Ausbildungsqualität im gewählten Beruf die Lernerfahrungen an den Lernorten in der beruflichen Grundbildung (Betrieb, Berufsfachschule, überbetrieblicher Kurs) beeinflusst und wie diese den Ausbildungserfolg am Ende der beruflichen Grundbildung vorhersagen. Insbesondere interessieren die Gelingensbedingungen der Berufsmaturität, die während oder nach der beruflichen Grundbildung absolviert wird. Das Projekt soll diese Forschungslücken verringern. Die theoretischen Grundlagen der Studie liefert das Erwartungs-Wert-Modell von Eccles und Wigfield (2002), das im Rahmen des Projekts WiSel II mit der sozio-kognitiven Laufbahntheorie von Lent, Brown und Hackett (1994) ergänzt worden ist.

Die folgenden Fragen stehen im Zentrum:

(1) Wie beeinflussen Personenmerkmale Schülerinnen und Schülern und Überzeugungen und Verhaltensweisen von Eltern und Lehrpersonen in Primarschule und Sekundarstufe I den Abschluss der beruflichen Grundbildung, die subjektive Bewertung der Erwerbssituation und die Laufbahnpläne nach Abschluss der beruflichen Grundbildung?

(2) Welche Rolle spielen Merkmale des Berufsfindungsprozesses und von Erfahrungen im ersten Ausbildungsjahr für die Vorhersage des Abschlusses einer beruflichen Grundbildung, der subjektiven Bewertung der Erwerbssituation fünf Jahre nach Austritt aus der obligatorischen Schule und die Laufbahnpläne nach Abschluss der beruflichen Grundbildung?

 

Methode

Die Studie begann 2011 mit einer Befragung von 1'735 Jugendlichen im 5. Schuljahr in vier Schweizer Kantonen (Aargau, Basel-Landschaft, Bern, Luzern). Es folgten weitere Befragungen im 6., 7. und 9. Schuljahr sowie im ersten Jahr nach Austritt aus der obligatorischen Schule. Dabei wurden vom 5.-7. Schuljahr mittels Fragebogen, Intelligenz- und Leistungstests neben den Jugendlichen jeweils auch Eltern und Lehrpersonen befragt. Die sechste Erhebung findet im Herbst 2021 statt. Durch die regelmässige Befragung der Teilnehmenden sollen Bildungsverläufe beschrieben und erklärt werden. Insbesondere sollen die oben formulierten Forschungsfragen beantwortet werden.